Recreation of Lisa Eldridge’s Classic Smokey Eye !

Hey Guys !

First of all, I am truely sorry about the late post, it is around 11pm as i write this. I have had quite some technical difficulties regarding the pictures featuring in my blog, but all seems to be good and ready. This is the hiccups I talked about in my previous post.

But, it’s finally that time of week. Time for just relaxing on the couch under a cozy blanket, having some nice hot tea and reading some blogs. At least that’s what I did today. This week I bring to you an EOTD look, or actually more of an EOTW (eye of the week) look instead since I picked out my favorite look that I have worn this week and thought I’d share it with you guys. As the title has already given away, it is a recreation of a look done by the oh so talented Lisa Eldridge, highly respected makeup artist and Beauty guru on YT. The look is a classical smokey eye that you could either play down with a somewhat nude lip and it could work for so many things, or play it up with a dark fall lip and make it more of an evening look which is what i prefer and did.

But first, products used are:

Face:

– Nivea Express Hydration Primer

– Maybelline Dream Smooth Primer, base alisadora

– Rimmel Wake me up Concealer

– Rimmel Stay matte Pressed Powder

Eyes:

– elf eyelid primer

– Maybelline Color Tattoo in Permanent Taupe

– Max Faxtor Khol Pnecil in 020 Black

– Finding Color Eyeshadow Palette, a light and a dark grey

– Rimmel Scandal Eyes Lycra Flex Mascara

– Rimmel Glam’eyes Day 2 Night Mascara

Brows:

– elf eyebrow kit in Ash

– Finding Color eyeshadow palette, a dark warmtoned grey

Cheeks:

– Bourjois Delice de Poudre Bronzing powder/ Chocolate Bronzer

– Max Faxtor Blush 225 Mulberry

– Sabas Blush quard, light pink

Lips:

– elf Longwear Lip Liner in Bitter

– Max Faxtor Lipstick in Scarlet Ghost

DSCI0554          DSCI0550

How I did it:

I first applied the Nivea Primer in the middle of my face, meaning under the eyes, around and on the nose and on my chin. I did exactly the same with the Maybelline Primer. the Nivea primer makes sure that the makeup is much more long lasting while the Maybelline primer gives a soft surface and makes anything apply much more smoothly. I then applied the concealer in the same areas and on my spots and blemishes for a nice even skin.

After my face is done I do the eyes. I first apply the elf eyelid primer on my entire lid, all the way up to the brow. Then I apply the Maybelline color tattoo on my lid and just above my crease. The same goes for the light grey eyeshadow, but this does not go above the crease. I then apply a thin line of the black khol pencil on my lashline, thickening it at the outer corner. Afterwords I took the dark grey eyeshadow and put it on the outer third of my eye while smudging out the liner. The liner is also applied half way in on my lower lashline and buffed out with a mix of the light and the dark grey eyeshadow. I then tightlined to really make the eye smokey. to finsih the eyes, I applied two coats of the Rimmel Scandal eyes mascara and one light coat of the Rimmel Day 2 Night mascara to give more intensity.

To frame my face I filled in the two outer thirds of my brows with the cream part of the elf eyebrow kit and set it with the warm dark grey from the Finding Color eyeshadow palette. The inner part of the brow I filled in with the ash colored powder in the elf eyebrow kit.

DSCI0556           DSCI0566

Eyes all done, and now for the cheeks. In all simplicity I used the chocolate bronzer to lightly contour and warm up my face followed by using the Max Factor blush on my cheeks and then a light touch of the Sabas light pink blush just on the apples of my cheeks for a more flushed look. Normally I would not use the chocolate bronzer on someone as pale as myself, but I feel that my freckles already bring some color to my face and the bronzer therefore works without being too redish in color. To finish it off I lined and filled in my lips with the elf lipliner and then applied a good coat of my Max Factor dark red lipstick. In the end I finished the entire look by powdering my entire face with the Rimmel powder to mattify my skin.

DSCI0555

This is a great look that could go with so many different things depending on your lipcolor and perhaps even your cheeks. I wore this look for the first time yesterday to my nephew’s first birthday with a pearly pink neutral lipstick. The look itself is very neutral althought it is smokey which means that you can sport basically any lipcolor with it plus it is so easy and fast to do and requires very few products.

DSCI0568      DSCI0570

I normally wear glasses so this is just to give you an idea of how it looks with those on.

There will be a new blogpost every sunday, hopefully not as late everytime as it is now about 1 am and technically monday, but I guess it is still sunday somewhere right?

Thanks for stopping by and please leave me a comment if there are any particular looks or reviews that you would like me to do and I may actually do it 😉 Remember that you can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram which are both MrsBuchwald, hope you enjoyed and I’ll talk to you soon !

Leave a Reply

